No stimulus for Amtrak Police

USA Today reports that due to past violations in the use of Community Oriented Policing Services (COPs) grants, police agencies  in 26 towns are ineligible for $1 billion in aid to hire more officers. These agencies have agreed to forfeit stimulus funds rather than pay back the $7.1 million. The agencies made the list for a variety of reasons:  improperly diverting funds, failing to retain officers in accordance with program rules, or not documenting how funds were spent.

Included on the violations list:  Amtrak Police Department,  Newark, N.J.,  Waterbury, Connecticut,  Haines, Alaska, and Live Oak, Florida.